Archinect
anchor

An offer to good to refuse?

smallpotatoes

Hi everyone I've been lurking for some time, and now have a reason to speak up. I am an intern here my little midwest state, and should finish my IDP hours by Jan 08. I have been approached by my m.arch program, and they want me to consider coming back to teach full time as an adjunct, complete the ARE and do so with the incentive of preparing to enter a post-pro in the area of my choice at the university of my choice on this school's dime. After I complete the outside academia, I would have the obligation of returning to my home state to pursue a tenure-track faculty position at said university.

Just talking numbers, the entry salary & benefits of just the adjunct position beats the pants off my current intern job. I should also mention that at my current firm I am already bumping my head against the ceiling...not much advancement opportunity here. I would like to start a family too soon and I can see how being a teacher might be a good gig in that respect, not to mention the ability to do research, publish, travel and enter competitions. I am truly salivating at the idea of completing some post-professional academia, even more so if it were fully funded!

There are many aspects of a career in teaching that really appeal to me and I have always thought it would be something I would pursue after more time in the private sector, after having something real built. I am surprised that this opportunity has come so soon.

It seems to good to be true. What are the pitfalls of entering the academic world having only a few years out in the "real world"?
Are opportunities like this that rare? Does anyone here succesfully maintain a small design practice on the side while teaching? Thanks I am in over my head here...

May 9, 07 5:38 pm
KEG

It's sounds amazing..i'd take it in a heartbeat. but, then again, I don't have enough "real world experience" to see the downside.