Archinect
anchor

south africa, new zealand, australia

wildthing

I am an undergraduate architecture student preparing to apply for study abroad during my Junior year. Since I've grown up in Europe and studied in the US, I am planning on discovering a new continent during this year abroad. My choices are: University of Auckland, New Zealand, University of Sydney, Australia, and University of Cape Town in South Africa.
Which place do you think is the most interesting as seen from an architectural point of view? Why?
Thank you so much

May 8, 07 12:21 am
Carl Douglas (agfa8x)

UoA! Face it: do you really want to be in Australia or SA?

Seriously, it's a pretty good degree there. Theoretical and artistically slanted, lots of good, knowledgeable people, well-equipped studios, great architecture library.

USyd is ok too, although I've only visited there once.

May 8, 07 12:33 am  · 
 · 
KEG

the social/ theoretical work being done in cape town is incredibly vital. With an entire generation on the verge of the extinction, I can't image a better place to study architecture/ culture. Cape Town is stunning as well and the travel opportunities are phenomenal (both selfishly and philanthropically). To me there’s no question…

May 8, 07 12:39 am  · 
 · 
dia

Go to Auckland and you can get taught by the master - agfa8x. That should seal it.

May 8, 07 1:03 am  · 
 · 
Carl Douglas (agfa8x)

Word. But I just visit now.

May 8, 07 1:08 am  · 
 · 
justavisual

i vote cape town and will be envious if you go.

May 8, 07 11:25 am  · 
 · 
Carl Douglas (agfa8x)
Architecture programme at University of Auckland.

(Discharging my alumni advertising obligations)

May 8, 07 7:22 pm  · 
 ·