Archinect
anchor

too late for an mba?

kaiyuen

I am wondering if anyone out that has gone through similar struggles that I am going through now.  I would really appreciate your thoughts.

A bit of background...I have been practicing architecture for the past 8 years at three different firms (global corporate office and boutique firms) and I have worked on a variety of projects from small additions to mega development abroad.  I have been through the licensing exams as well as a layoff.  I have also completed my MArch back in the early 2000s and am halfway through paying my grad school student loans.

I have been contemplating career change for some time and now I am seriously considering an MBA in the US.  However, by the time I graduate with an MBA degree, I will be at least 36 years old.  Is that too late for a career transition?  I am not aiming at the banking or finance sector.  In an ideal world I would like to combine my current design abilities and future business/ management skills acquired from an MBA program.  I am interested in design consulting firms such as IDEO or Frog design.

I am also considering the 1-year MSRED programs since they are shorter(and cheaper) and is more relevant to the architecture profession.  However, an MBA degree appears to open more doors than a MSRED degree.  

Thank you so much for your help!

Sep 11, 12 2:21 am
manoverde84

When I was in school it was consulting or bust, so bigger firms like them young, but I've noticed mid size firms take the work experience approach. I would say you should be fine as long as you steer clear of banking or finance like you said. I was too old at 25 when I was applying and I had two internships under my belt! The same can go with the big name consulting firms; Mckinsey, Booz, etc. 

Just get the MBA at your local flagship and go for consulting. You seem to have ample work experience so you won't have a problem and 36 is not old. I was freaking out about finishing grad school at 30.