Archinect
anchor

Need new Laptop

Hello,

I need to upgrade my laptop.
I'm currently a architecture student 4th year of undergrad.
I do not want a Apple (mac book) so please don't suggest that.

I don't really have a budget, but under 2000 (I might be able to get an awesome deal on the Thinkpad)

I don't want something too big, because I travel a lot, I don't really like those huge gaming laptops.
The programs I will have to have on it from the most important is:
Rhino (3d) - modeling program
Adobe Suit - Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign etc.
Autocad
Autodesk Maya
Possibly: Sketchup, Revit, and 3ds Max

Here are the three I am considering,
I like the styles of the Samsung and the HP, but have heard great things about the Lenovo

Using Newegg just for comparison!

Lenovo ThinkPad W Series
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834246432

Samsung 7 Series
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834131311

HP Envy
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834158219

Any Help would be much appreciated, thank you!
Tim

Sep 10, 12 10:37 pm
Stasis

i have a W520 with i7 2760QM, 12GB RAM, 160GB SSD, Quadro 2000m, and 1080P Screen. I use all of the programs you listed plus Adobe Premiere Pro and i can say that this laptop can handle anything.  I could work on Video Editing for 16+ hours on Premiere while switching between Photoshop, autocad, etc.  Even after long hours, the laptop's still remained cool enough to have it on your lap, if you do care about heat generation.

The only downside for me is the speaker.  Its volume's really low though I crank it up all the way.  I've heard that W530 has improved audio system now.