Archinect
anchor

Facilities Management Position... Architectural Career Suicide?

bRink

So I am an architectural professional, with experience as PA and designer, with a technical orienatation, and I am passionate about architecture and design, with alot of experience in corporate interiors.  I am hard working, and I value creativity, and innovation and I do think I want to continue in the profession in the future...

I am currently employed at a design oriented firm, have a decent portfolio of design work which I have accumulated over the years in the profession, however here is my dilemma: I'm a little burnt out... Especially in this economy, seeing layoffs and constant deadlines and feeling underpaid and with not enough time to be with a young family, not enough time to study for and complete my ARE exams (I have only a few more to go), and I could really use a bit of a break from a long commute and continual project fires and deadlines to put out week in and week out... Project work right now is okay, but I've been losing inspiration, some of the work is tending to be towards the bread and butter type, at least it is repetitive... Corporate office TIs... Permit sets... VE exercises...