Archinect
anchor

Suggestions: Tokyo/Japan

f-tron

I'm going to be in Japan for about a week and a half...definitely in Tokyo, still to be determined where else. Any suggestions on what to see when I'm there architecture, landscape & otherwise?

Apr 27, 07 2:24 am
JMBarquero/squirrelly

when will you be going f-tron? What is the nature of the visit?

Apr 27, 07 12:10 pm  · 
 · 
f-tron

i'll be there in mid june. i'm a mla student and i'm going to taiwan for school at the beginning of june and afterward heading to japan to meet up with a friend whose parents live in tokyo. if anyone has any suggestions for taipei or taiwan, that would be great too, although i think i will have less time to sightsee while i'm there.

Apr 27, 07 1:22 pm  · 
 · 
Philarch

Wow, sorry no one gave you suggestions in time. I'm headed there myself some time in August. Does the Japan Rail Pass work for pretty much all trains? I'm thinking of getting the 7-day one and travelling half way across the country on it.

Jul 11, 07 9:52 am  · 
 · 
bRink

you should check out:

FOA's yokohama port terminal... it takes a bit of a train ride to get out to yokohama but i think its worth it... if you're into landscape... sort of an interesting manmade landscape element...

ando's "omotosande hills" be sure to wander around it and then go inside... The inside is kind of surprising... the building has a "height restriction" relative to nearby trees and the old building facade that it maintains a piece of...

other cool retail spaces in omotosande... dior omotosande by kazuyo sejima

vinoly's tokyo international forum