Archinect
anchor

ON RENDERING...

MrSim

Hello all designers, architects, and all in between,

I'm a masters architectural student exploring rendering programs that are efficient, effective, with stunning photo-realism.

With the understanding of post production using Photoshop, my real question is out of the myriad of rendering programs which ones have any one of you found the most effective, efficient and best in quality?

By effective I mean programs that either have their own rendering engine or are able to be compatible with other rendering engines and to what degree are they compatible i.e. V-Ray, Maxwell, etc

By efficiency I mean rendering programs that have abilities beyond just rendering. i.e. Revit allows efficient section cuts and plans that can be selected in addition to renders.

Quality, well essentially what program needs the least amount of Photoshop Post production.

Example programs (feel free to express any other programs you have experience with):

Revit

Artlantis

ArchiCAD

Rhino

Google Sketchup

V-Ray

Maxwell

SU Podium

3DS Max

Thank you all,

Sep 2, 12 1:48 pm

Revit of course is great in the efficiency department (one model produces everything you need), but I find the renderings lacking in quality due to added post-processing time (in my experience). I personally use V-Ray largely because after playing around with it for 4 years I have things set the way I want them, with minimal post processing time other than adding linework and entourage. 

Sep 2, 12 2:01 pm  · 
 · 
Alex Gunawan

if you have a vray or maxwell quality within revit, then you'll have the answer.

that is sadly also means the end of visualization business

Sep 3, 12 12:14 pm  · 
 · 
l3wis

3DSMax + Vray is the best way to render.

Sep 3, 12 9:55 pm  · 
 · 
jurysdykcja