Archinect
anchor

am i "tainted" to future employers after working for a large corporate firm?

boomboom

i graduated in 2010 and, after being unemployed for an extended period of time, got a job working at a large corporate firm.  i'm not terribly happy here and don't like swimming in the bureaucracy and paperwork and politics.  i don't want to be specific, but the firm is along the lines of an SOM, Gensler, KPF, etc.

if i look for another job, will i be judged or tainted in any way for working for this enormous and uncreative/not design-oriented firm?  my ideal firm would be smaller and more imaginative, but were i to see someone work at this kind of firm for 2 years, i'd probably draw conclusions about their philosophy on everything, including design.

Aug 27, 12 11:17 pm
mdler

tainted love

Aug 28, 12 12:00 am  · 
 · 
mdler

not at all, btw

Aug 28, 12 12:00 am  · 
 · 
RH-Arch

Size won't limit you as much as niches may from other niches.

Aug 28, 12 12:16 am  · 
 · 
Rang

Size matters.

Aug 28, 12 9:08 am  · 
 · 

Tainted?  For working at a "large corporate firm"?  You shittin' me?    If there's anything "tainting" you, it's your lack of perspective.

Un-fuckin-believable, yo!

Aug 28, 12 9:21 am  · 
 · 
fulcrum

not at all, boomboom.

Plus, working at some creative boutique firms doesn't automatically make you a creative person. It might help you to become a creative one by working at a dull company, since you will channel that frustration to enter some competitions and do YOUR own stuff.

Hey, SOM and KPF are not bad at all, especially if you look at their custom wall systems and such.

Aug 28, 12 9:27 am  · 
 ·