Archinect
anchor

vectorworks...what the #*@%

betamax

this program is completely counter-intuitive to anything i have ever used. who uses it? comments/suggestions are welcome. The whole layer/class/sheet organization seems simple enough, especially for 2D work, then you try to actually model a slightly complex building with level changes within one flloor etc, and all that sense goes right out the window. granted I have only been working with the software for a couple weeks so I am going to give it the benefit of the doubt. I am also trying to model a project which is already done. CD's are out the door and the drawings are saved. the originators of the draing files have, unfortunately disregarded the organizational suggestions the application seems to make. therefore, everything is in one layer(not class), and split up randomly among the classes.

I refuse to knock the program completely on its ass because, as i mentioned, i am new to it and haven't given it a fair shake...however i would like some insight from anyone who uses it correctly and successfully in the hybrid environment it claims to have mastered. preferably having used it on more complex projects than something equal to the maison domino(e?). much appreciated.

Aug 12, 04 5:36 pm
mauOne™

i started out 2d CAD in VW when it was minicad 5 or 6, i started using it on a MAC, and i was not aware of ACAD, so my world was minicad, i remember i understood the logic of the program more or less like photoshop or the programs with "mac" philosophy if im allowed to say this, and it worked great.

I made my thesis project on vw8 and had lots and lots of info and had no trouble with it, its just another way to see the world, of course when i switched to ACAD for professional reasons (the market here has no room for VW) and i flipped 'cause the logic of autocad is very different