Archinect
anchor

2008 M.Arch applicants, commiserate here!

ripomatic

In regards to recommendations (a few posts back)...think it's OK for me to apply with 1 former professor and 2 bosses from my last company...or even 3 bosses from my last company and no professors?

I graduated on '04, so I'm pretty sure my profs have forgotten about me, and I've really only worked at one company since graduating.

Oct 19, 07 12:08 pm  · 
 · 
BabbleBeautiful

If you can get yourself at least one academic recommendation I think it's good. But if you and the prof haven't interacted much and you feel that he/she might not know you well enough you might be better of getting job recommendation. We need to get people that know us and can support us, whether it be academic or job recommendation.

I graduated in 04 and I have one prof writing me a rec, but I worked a lot with him in my senior year.

Oct 19, 07 12:24 pm  · 
 · 
BabbleBeautiful

alexandraNY: I know of schools that have Feb deadlines, and it's not unheard of that some private schools have even later deadlines. But definately call and/or their graduate advisor and ask.

Oct 19, 07 12:26 pm  · 
 · 
BabbleBeautiful

*and/or email their

Oct 19, 07 12:28 pm  · 
 · 
boxy

is it just me or did the ivies push their deadlines back? not complaining or anything, just happy that i have that extra time.

Oct 19, 07 10:53 pm  · 
 · 
boxy

also, i'm pretty much set on schools, but can you guys name some of the best public schools for m.arch1? i might add one because of the tuition.

Oct 19, 07 10:55 pm  · 
 · 
asbuckeye07

mr. bojangles-

UVA has a great program (in my opinion better than most ivies). Im applying there harvard, princeton and yale. You might also want to check out Berkeley, Oregon, Michigan, Texas, UCLA and Cincinnati...all good programs.

Oct 20, 07 8:38 am  · 
 · 
tman

Hey all, thought i'd join the discussion.

B.Arch 06', applying to M.Arch 2 + equivalent degrees