Archinect
anchor

Architecture or Medicine?

saradeegs

So its well known at the firm where I work that I am trying to decide between continuing on in architecture (getting and M.Arch and registered) and going to medical school. This is a decision I've been wrestling with for many years, and last night, as I was leaving, I told one of the architects I work with that I was thinking about foregoing medicine and sticking with architecture.

So today as I'm leaving, she tells me that she thinks I'm making a terrible mistake.

I have thought and thought about this, and done tons of research, and I have gotten nowhere, so I turn to you, archinectors. What the hell am I supposed to do, or, how the hell am I supposed to decide what to do??

Apr 4, 07 7:53 pm
med.

Tough decision... You'd probably obviously be good at both. It just really depends on what you have the passion to do your entire life.

My mom is a doctor and went through med school. She has practiced on and off over the past 20 years between teaching med school and practicing in private clinics. Based on her experiences, it's an extremely stressful and daunting field. Much of what she did was paperwork, deal with HMOs, deal with failed insurance claims, and see downright depressing and sad cases (death, disease, illness, hypochondriacs, and uncooperative people). She was more happy teaching and doing medical research, but that was her take on the matter. The money was always a good thing, but it seems like down the stretch that's all there was to it.

I hope that helps -- at least one side of the story.

I could never get into it cuz' it would gross me out. I wouldn't even be able to see a person get injected with a needle, let alone taking a needle.

Apr 4, 07 8:05 pm  · 
 · 
strlt_typ

why don't you want to continue architecture?

Apr 4, 07 8:08 pm  · 
 · 
saradeegs