Archinect
anchor

Which Firm should I go with?

med.

Good day all,

I was wondering if any one here had experience working at any of these firms in the D.C area. I got offers there which are all pretty decent, but I can't figure out which of them I should take. Some have swayed me with money, and some have attracted me with their experience. I am an entry level recent graduate and have very little experience, so I'm very new to the workings of how things work at firms.

So here they are:

DMJM Design
47k/year, all benefits, overtime, no bonuses
job description: model-making, sketching, construction documents, details, and presentation drawings
corporate environment -- some models, some drawings, and competition stuff
located in Arlington

Cooper Carry
43k/year, 2k signing bonus, good christmas bonuses, all benefits, overtime,
job description: heavily design oriented, sketching, site planning, hand rendering, 3d modeling and rendering, drawing, model making, and construction documents using microstation which they will train people to use.
not too big, not too small (50 people all together)
very architectural firm (models, renderings, and drawings everywhere), very nice office.
Located in Alexandria

Others I recieved offers from:

HNTB
Leo A. Daly
Arch Inc.

So any good suggestions? Thanks in advanced.

Mar 30, 07 6:50 pm
+i

dmjm is awful- unless you like engineered based government work. cooper cary- unfamiliar.

have you tried smithgroup or rtkl (quality work)?

Mar 30, 07 8:23 pm  · 
 · 
garpike

From their website, Cooper Carry seems quite corporate. I would go with DMJM. It seems you could learn a lot more from construction documents this early in your career.

"Architectural" office aside, in my experience, DMJM produces more progressive work. Can't really speak for their VA office, though.

Mar 30, 07 8:28 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

47k full benifits out of school...damn

Mar 30, 07 8:43 pm  · 
 · 
Gloominati