Archinect
anchor

Landscape Architecture Admissions

camilili

Hi there,

I was wondering if anyone can attest to the competitiveness of admissions into MLA I programs. If you have been through the application process, know of admissions processes/criteria, or just other info, I would really appreciate your input.

Here is a little bit about my education/background.

I graduated from Washington University in St. Louis with a wretched GPA (2.88). Even though my GPA is so low, I got a 3.6 in my major, Photography, where I focused on building large scale installations dealing with domestic spaces. As an undergrad student, I started an annual student run installation exhibition in an apartment or a house. I also worked with the City of St. Louis and the public transportation outfit on projects to increase the visibility of art in the greater community. And I have an exceptionally strong portfolio of visually aesthetic and conceptually strong work (despite my low GPA).

After graduation, I continued on to graduate school to receive my MFA (I was admitted into some top notch schools, but for family reasons, chose to go to a lesser school closer to family, The Museum School, affiliated with Tufts univeresity)

I realized that the program was not for me, and that I was not sure that I wanted to focus on visual art, so I made the tough decision of leaving the program.

Afterward, I did an internship at MIT's List Visual Arts Center in fundraising, development, grant writing, and some exhibiton work. At the same time, I did a second internship at a theater in fundraising and development.

Following this, I worked in public art, assisting several artists in obtaining public work working with cities, municipalities, park systems, etc.