Archinect
anchor

Designer Ethics

farwest1

I'm hoping someone might be able to help me with two ethical questions about being a designer in a large office.

I recently did a competition in my office, where I'm a designer (not owner or partner.) I was the only one who worked on it, I designed it, the partners didn't even see it before I sent it out. But it did have firm's name on it. It ended up winning a prize. I know the firm technically owns the rights to the project, but what rights do I have as its sole designer? Can I claim it as my own work? How can I present it on my own website and to future clients so they don't think I was just a mere draftsman on the project?

Also, our office does numerous studies on every project. Most of these studies and concepts are never even seen by anyone outside the office -- they just end up in the trash heap of the archives folder. Would it be unethical to take one of these studies that I had done (again as an employee of this office) and develop it further on my own, as a theoretical project? It bears no resemblance to the approved design, and was never seen by a client. A partner looked at it for five minutes and rejected it (even though I thought it was a good idea.)

Mar 20, 07 1:30 pm
Client

You can put the project in your own personal portfolio but as far as marketing the image for your own commercial gain i think that is a big no-no if your office sponsered the design and you used their computers or plotters or glue gun or whatever you needed.

As far as developing the rejected design further, i dont think that would be an issue- unless it is looked as the same as the other projects,,

Mar 20, 07 1:42 pm  · 
 · 

well, the competition was your work until you put their name on it. probably not a smart move. now that, yes, the firm does have the rights to the work, you can still list yourself as designer of it. you just have to acknowledge that it was under their umbrella.