Archinect
anchor

AFH does LA?

moratto

So I talked to my friend that volunteers at AFH in New York and surprisingly she told me that there is not a chapter in LA. She suggested starting one but, I am very new to LA and know absolutely little about this city. If any LA archinectors are wanting to start one I would be down (of course with Cameron's blessing).

Personally I would like to focus on homeless issues. I come from a region with zero homelessness (perceived). Since moving out here, I am fascinated and concerned with homelessness.

I know there is a lot of talent out here, why not put it to good use.

Mar 14, 07 11:51 pm
Cameron

There is a group in Venice but no overall LA group. Email me directly and I'll send you Mike's email (he's running the venice chapter.)

Mar 15, 07 4:02 am  · 
 · 
JMBarquero/squirrelly

Moratto, I'd be interested, if at the very least as a support element!

let me know.

Mar 15, 07 11:07 am  · 
 · 
postal

Yeah, Chicago too... It seemed like there was one... at least there was an even a while back..

the only other thing I can find is a "Meet-up" Group...

Is this typical of the level of organization of Groups in other cities?

Did every archie with a conscience move to New Orleans, Biloxi?

Mar 15, 07 11:47 am  · 
 · 
Cameron

There were 70 in Chicago but when the 'leader' of the chapter had to resign (work commitments etc.) no one stepped up. Chapters only emerge with strong leadership. NYC has 3 directors and 6 projects on the board, MN, Iowa and SF also have good leadership and are implementing projects.

and yes all the archies are in the 'loxi (we've brought down 2-300 since last year.)

Mar 15, 07 12:36 pm  · 
 · 
moratto

Squirrelly- I think I am going to check out the Venice chapter. I'll give you the contact information after Cameron sends it to me.

btw: when did you go to the Bartlett?

Mar 16, 07 12:26 am  · 
 · 
jackjood

Mates,