Archinect
anchor

NYC summer internship (--> ???firms/approach/general insight)

liznieve

ok, so the eternal question....

any good summer internships out there?

i am a grad student at risd with work experience... a portfolio not only of school work but also work-y work (bigger firm, big projects, was fairly involved considering i was the stepping stool for the ants to reach the totem pole, so to speak).

ideally (predictably) i would love if i didn't have to fetch coffee/file all summer, the firm's philosophy/approach is innovative but not exclusively computer-driven, the firm smaller although (ughhhh i shudder to say this) at least tangentially recognizable on a resume (or is so ridiculously supportive of summer interns that a lot of actual creative work could be done).

right. any experiences/warnings/suggestions/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Mar 14, 07 10:29 am
starrchitect

NYC IS FULL. Go to PROVIDENCE.

P.S.: DO YOUR OWN HOMEWORK.

Mar 14, 07 1:26 pm  · 
 · 
liznieve

hey, asshole, i *am* doing my own homework, have *already* submitted a few applications, but was hoping that *someone* not as deathly competitive as you are might be forthcoming about past experiences that would inform my decision beyond the abilities of a firm's PR department to publicize itself, my professors' friends or my OWN EXPERIENCE WORKING IN NEW YORK.

you know, branch out into perhaps a world unknown to me. what a crazy idea, learning from others in an attempt to move out of ones own paradigm...

Mar 14, 07 2:16 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

dont call people asshole, asshole

Mar 14, 07 2:26 pm  · 
 · 
holz.box

i'm with mdler, if you can't take the new york mentality on archinect, you're in for quite a wake-up if you move there.

if you do a search, this has been covered at least 50 times here.

Mar 14, 07 2:48 pm  · 
 · 
jwillefo

I'm from New York and no way people are that big of dicks here.

Mar 14, 07 2:52 pm  · 
 · 
aeglitis