Archinect
anchor

construction experience

SPYDER01

fellow archinectors.....

after graduating with my undergrad 3 years ago, i worked on my internship at an architecture office for 2 years. fed up with the perils of an architectural internship and sick of being nothing more than a monkey, i quit and began working in construction. i am now a project manager with a thousand times more responsibility and love it. its nice working on actually building the project, rather than drawing it.

my question is, i want to go back to grad school in the next few years for architecture, and ultimately open my own design build firm, do you guys think that i am making a mistake by working as a GC now instead of learning more about 'design' at an architecture office?

thx...

Mar 13, 07 10:19 pm
dia

No mistake is being made. Just dont be one of these people who sit there in crits saying, "In the REAL world, bla, bla, bla....", and talking at length about flashing details.

School is for design and experimentation. If you are lucky enough, your professional life after masters could be too.

Mar 13, 07 10:51 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

SPYDER01

I think that you are doing / have done the right thing. You know how to put a building together. As long as you have an appreciation for 'design' and 'architecture' you will be fine. Going back to school may give you better credentials in the academic world, but it wont do much to make you a better maker of buildings.

If you can put a building together, you are ahead of the game. Read architecture books on your own. Learn about detailing (The books 'Details of Modern Architecture' are good for this)

There is a builder in LA who was trained as an architect (I am sure there are many)

http://www.bonurabuilding.com/

he is one of the most saught after builders in the city because he knows about architecture and he knows how to build. He appreciates architecture.

Mar 14, 07 1:16 am  · 
 · 

except he is lying repeatedly about his cost section...