Archinect
anchor

Becoming an R.A. w/o a Professional Degree

ekelsey

Hey everyone.  I was curious as to other people's opinions about becoming an architect without going to a professional degree.  There are several states that allow people to practice under and architect and with enough experience they can sit for the test.  Thoughts?

Jul 23, 12 9:32 am
marlowe

I have a 4 year degree and am curently licensed in 5 states (NY, TX, CO, CA, MD).  There are likely several other states (IL, WI, WA) which I can obtain a license in but have not had a need to apply there.

Rather than seek a M.Arch I chose a different route and obtained a MBA instead.

Jul 24, 12 12:51 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

It's possible, but I would think it would be hard to get that first job without the degree. If you can get by that, getting licensed without the degree can save a lot of time and money.

Jul 24, 12 1:00 pm  · 
 · 
ekelsey

I know of a few people at work that did it, and one who is working on it now.  But it seems that more and more states are adopting NCARB and getting rid of the alternate paths.  Also it looks like the BEA option is extremely tough to get through, something like 30 a year is what I have been told, but I am not sure how many apply though.

Jul 24, 12 6:31 pm  · 
 · 

I qualified to start taking exams through work equiv. Apprenticing with licensed Architects for 8 years...and am taking the exams. It's the way I wanted to go, and no student loan to pay back. It seems my work experience has always been an asset more than lack of college has been a drawback.

Jul 25, 12 3:43 pm  · 
 · 
toasteroven

you will need to have your license for 6 years good standing in the state where you received that license in order to gain reciprocity in most other states (via NCARB certification).  with a professional degree you don't need to wait to gain reciprocity.

Jul 25, 12 3:58 pm  · 
 · 
sandhilldesign