Archinect
anchor

Getting offers from Gehry & SOM

taxidriver

Long time reader, first time poster.

I'm wondering if anyone might have any insights that might help me decide. I have just gotten offers from Gehry and SOM (SF). Both have given me reasonable terms of employment to go work for them, but I'm trying to find out whether working for either of those firms would be good for me. I have about 3 years experience, and am being hired to work on documents for both.

Regarding SOM, I've heard that they hire-and-fire.

Regarding Gehry, I've heard that you don't learn much.

Are these true?

Mar 9, 07 1:46 am
tzenyujuei

maybe you should look at where you have worked before and try to supplement your resume... so if your background is only starchitects then maybe you wanna give the corporate world a try... etc.

Mar 9, 07 7:39 am  · 
 · 
Chase Dammtor

Well...my advice would be

1) Think about the cities and where you'd rather live. Some people like LA way better, others like SF better.

2) Think about what kind of architecture you want to get experience in doing. Do you want experience becoming very competent in the logistics of large-scale design and construction, or do you want to work on smaller, but more quirky, iconic structures and stay closer to the elite club of starchitects?

Mar 9, 07 8:38 am  · 
 · 
archasm

SOM will always be around. Decline respectfully. Put in a year at Gehry Partners before he kicks it. It will look good on your resume for the rest of your life. Go back to SOM later and you will be able to ask for more $$$ with Gehry Partners under your belt.

Mar 9, 07 12:12 pm  · 
 · 
dml955i

I have had friends and former classmates that have worked for Gehry over the years. This has been their experience:

If you're just out of school or have little experience, you should be prepared to spend most, if not all of your time in the model shop. You probably won't learn much in this position.