Archinect
anchor

UK Architect coming to work in the USA - is it worth it?

Maria M

Hi, Hope someone here can help me as so far I haven’t managed to find any useful information anywhere else…

I’m a UK- registered architect, have been working in the industry for over 10 years, qualified for about 8. I work for a design-led practice in London, specializing in high-density prefabricated residential projects.

I have an opportunity to have a Green Card (through my parents who are citizens) and try to work in the States (I have family in CA and in Chicago). I also can have a “year out” to retrain if I want to…

So, my question is – shall I try it? I’m in my late 30s, so it’s now or never. I was even thinking about retraining as something completely different – I do like architecture but I’m really put out by the insecurity, stupid hours and low pay… Would love to have a discussion with someone and see what people think.

Jul 17, 12 11:24 am
RH-Arch

I am by no means someone that can help you in that regard due to my junior status, but under the assumption you do continue architecture, do you have a specific size firm you are interested in? a specific firm? a specific market? a specific state? do you value quality of work over pay or the other way around? 

Jul 17, 12 11:41 am  · 
 · 
zonker

insecurity, stupid hours and low pay -  this comes with the game - don't come here if this is what you are put off by - there are many in the U.S. who need work and would gladly work stupid hours and low pay - I work "stupid hours sometimes w/o pay and lo pay when I do get paid.

Jul 17, 12 11:43 am  · 
 · 
vado retro

insecurity, stupid hours and low pay…covers most of the thread topics on archinect.

Jul 17, 12 5:49 pm  · 
 · 
lletdownl