Archinect
anchor

Portfolio Crit

havoc

Hello,

This is my first time posting here, I've been looking at grad school apps for the 2012-2013 cycles as well as a number of portfolios and plan on working on mine for the summer.

Below is the link to a portfolio I prepared for my internship applications... I know that its not nearly good enough for grad school applications, but i was hoping to get feedback on it before beginning the upgrade process, mainly so that i can take specific comments into account immediately. I finish my B.Arch in a year and would ideally like to get into an M.Arch II program for the next academic year (2013-2014).

http://issuu.com/ramzih.naja/docs/portfadj

The work is part of my second and third year coursework, noting that the entire first year is dedicated to basic design in my school. There are two decent projects (4th year, just finished) as well as the progress on my thesis (starting October) that will be added for the grad school applications, as well as some professional work.

Thanks!

Jul 15, 12 9:48 am
RH-Arch

Regardless of the quality of design or work, there are a few things which stick out to me:

• your cover and table of contents or rather simplistic. I'm not sure if you're trying to go for a simple elegance or what, but use some more font flexibility at least (size/ more bold/ color maybe). Personally I've always found these two parts of the portfolio the most difficult to make visually appealing without putting a piece of work as a background or adding possibly irrelevant textures. look at graphic design works.
  • your overall formatting is a little lacking. Don't be afraid to have a simple graphic motif related to the page number or your name or title. (yet again something you will see in graphic design)
  • you have an issue with white space and too many pages. Use of large areas of white space really only balance well with a very powerful image (personal opinion) and you should aim for about half as many pages.