Archinect
anchor

What to do?

Minnearchitect

Okay, I’m an intern architect with seven years experience out of Graduate School and numerous years prior and during school as a landscape designer and student intern. All in all I’ve been working in design since I was 17, I’m now 33. While in school I worked on some nationally known house and have won a few design awards I spent the past 7 years with a small firm that started to meltdown when the founding partner quit. Working there was really taking a tole on my mental health, so I decided to leave. That was six months ago and I haven’t been able to find any jobs. Fortunately, I was somewhat of a rainmaker for the firm and have continued to do projects for clients, not enough to make a living but enough to survive (just barely). I have also been writing and teach at a major university to keep affloat. In the end I’m surviving because of my wife’s career and savings.

I don’t know Revit and haven’t used the big rendering program in years. I’m concerned the big firm world is closed to me. I have had several interviews that go great and they never fill a position, thus I’m not hired. I need to find work soon and I want to know if I should jump ship and do something else. Does anyone have stories about how they found positions or transformed into a new career? I’m interested in hearing from people that aren’t out of school, but have experience like me. I’m trying to decide if I make the investment to learn software and pursue registration or just start over in a career that  has a little more promise.

Jul 13, 12 11:51 am
cyberpunk10