Archinect
anchor

In Philadelphia for the weekend

I'll be in Philadelphia from this evening through Sunday afternoon. If any local archinecters want to get together for a beer or three, drop me an email. We'll be staying in a hotel downtown. This is my first time in Pennsylvania, but I'm traveling with one Penn Design Alum, as well as another former resident of Philly.

on Friday morning we will be visiting UPenn, first to tour the Landscape Architecture dept, then for a tour of the Architecture dept...The GF will be applying to UPenn Architecture for grad school (her father is the aforementioned alumnus). I'm just curious...

*This trip was spontenously scheduled after receiving an email from Southwest Airlines about discount airfare from Jacksonville to Philly. It's going to cost about 50 cents to travel round trip...so, why not...

Mar 1, 07 10:24 am
vado retro

i always wanted to go HERE to see the giant colon!!!

Mar 1, 07 11:09 am  · 
 · 
treekiller

enjoy a cheesesteak.
at penn, the LARPs are typically freindly, just don't feed them.

Mar 1, 07 11:35 am  · 
 · 
AP

definitely will eat at Pat's...or maybe Geno's...

vado, I sent that link to my travel buddies...we're going to the Philadelphia Museum of Art tomorrow afternoon, maybe after that we can check out the medical monstrosities at the Mütter...

Mar 1, 07 12:44 pm  · 
 · 
mike de

as a philadelphian, i say skip pats and genos and hit up Jim's on South Street

Mar 1, 07 1:40 pm  · 
 · 
AP

I was just told that Mama's Pizzeria is on the agenda, for Sat. lunch.

thanks for the pointer, mike.

Mar 1, 07 1:46 pm  · 
 · 
liberty bell

A few hits:

Make sure you go inside the Furness Library, and if they'll let you in without paying, go in to the main atrium space of the Academy of Fine Art (PAFA - also Furness). Sublime.

Kahn's Richards Medical building is also not to be missed, though it's a bit beat up.