Archinect
anchor

Question of Competency

vivaliv

Hi All,

I am currently lucky enough to be working my dream job at an amazing architecture firm in my small town and feel a million times blessed to have it, especially being it is a small firm in a small time in these hard times. I have been working here for 6 months now and am questioning my competency in regards to architecture and want to feel out how everyone else may have felt when they were fairly new to the real world of architecture.

I received my Master's of Architecture in 2008 and worked for a year and a half at a large firm in a big city before I left to live where I wanted to live. While I was working there, at times I felt a little unprepared or at minimum unqualified, but after a little less than a year, I felt I had it down and could handle everything pretty well. 

After I moved, I worked doing whatever I could for a couple of years (some small architecture jobs, landscaping, etc) until I found Dream Job and felt I was fairly capable doing other work. I don't know if it is just high personal expectations or what, but I feel everything I have touched so far has had major issues or forgotten items, most of which I should have caught or prevented. I feel after finally getting up to par at my first job, I should have been able to learn the new standards, expectations, duties and requirements by now and I'm worried I'm going to get canned or that maybe I picked the wrong profession. 

I am currently putting together tools to help me stay organized and keep my responsibilities organized and checked. I haven't been reprimanded or even had these things discussed yet, but I don't know what the standard protocol for these things in small firms is. My boss is a great guy and I feel I have a good relationship with him but I also feel one of the partners may be frustrated with my mistakes.