Archinect
anchor

young grasshopper loses hope

Philarct

hey guys,
names phil, some of you may have seen me around
but anyway, im a college student majoring in technical
drafting, and i definetely plan on switching to architecture.
Problem is, i struggle in math. Right now im being tutored
in precalculus and im gettin scared. Dont get me wrong
I REFUSE TO FAIL, but there is still that little bit of
fear in me. Give it to me straight, can i make in the field
of architecture if im not good at math? and how far
does math go in architecture?

Feb 26, 07 8:51 pm
THEaquino

If you can do simple math (addition, subtraction, simple division) you'll be fine. Make sure you know the difference between nominal and actual lumber dimensions.

I minored in Math, and I don't use anything I didn't learn in high school.

Feb 26, 07 9:01 pm  · 
 · 
SuperHeavy

i once was looking at a book with some working drawings by... hmm, i was a sophomore, i don't remember who, i think it was like Corb, one of the biggies of modernism. Anyway, he had a few equations scribbled out in note-to-self fashion. Among them: 12/4

he didn't finish writing the answer.

so anyway, you'll be fine phil

Feb 26, 07 9:15 pm  · 
 · 
n_

you'll be fine and can excel. trust me.

Feb 26, 07 9:17 pm  · 
 · 
double secret identity

learn excel

Feb 26, 07 10:03 pm  · 
 · 
Philarct

thanks guys
anotherq - did you guys go to big universities
and what not to become an architect?

Feb 26, 07 10:08 pm  · 
 · 
some person

"learn excel" is actually good advice. I find that most of the 'math' I do on a regular basis is actually just tabulations of square footage and other building requirements like plumbing fixture counts and egress path widths. Excel sure beats hand calculations, and it's easier to pass along to someone else to update.

Feb 26, 07 10:34 pm  · 
 · 
ChAOS