Archinect
anchor

Help: Is model making relevant??

modelsareme

Hello, everyone. I am in love with physical models. Being an architecture student, I hear discouragement every where I go- everything from "theres no need for models if we have computer-aided design" to "if you do make models, you'll have a hard time making money" to "no one does it anymore- after your third year of school, you wont even bother with models". I have done my own research, however and found so many amazing companies (most overseas) that do elaborate beautiful models. I would love to work for one of these companies or even have my own one day. Are models still relevant in today's world? Do you need to be a registered architect in order to do this kind of work? And is it more typical for companies to solely produce models, if they do at all?

Thanks for all your help..

Jul 7, 12 3:45 pm
accesskb

registered architect in order to make models? hahaha that's the most ridiculous thing i've heard all year xDD  If models are all you want to make, why even go to architecture school?   I'm sure you can read up a little about architecture on your own and spend that time/money honing your model making craft.

Jul 7, 12 4:04 pm  · 
 · 
RH-Arch