Archinect
anchor

salary request

sanofiSYN

When applying for arch jobs, how should one respond to salary requests. I'm a recent grad (4 year B.S. Arch degree), and I'm applying to a small design oriented firm in New York City. The position is for a full-time architectural intern. What's a good number for this position? And should I give them an exact number? I don't want to shortchange myself - then again I am only a recent undergrad, and I don't want to state too high a number and have them laughing. . . Any input appreciated. Thanks.

Aug 6, 04 10:25 pm
pencrush

I read a little article on interview negotiations on msn. you can read it here

anyway the relevant info was this...

Don't give the employer an actual figure if you are asked directly about the salary you want. Instead, turn the question around and ask what salary range would be offered in the company for this type of job for someone with similar years of experience, level of expertise and knowledge of the business.

if you feel awkward about turning it back on them, definitely give them a range. I can't speak to a good number in NYC, but i'm sure someone on here should be able to give you an idea.

Aug 7, 04 3:10 am  · 
 · 
b3tadine[sutures]

pencrush is right and i do this everytime i interview, it shows interest in the position and your place in that position.

Aug 7, 04 8:24 am  · 
 · 
Francisco David Boira

sanofiSYN:
The salary poll section has plenty of posts from NYC interns!

Aug 7, 04 9:24 am  · 
 · 
J3

definitely read through the salary poll and see where you fall within the NYC job market. I would have a few questions for you: apart from the 4yr BS, will you be going to Grad school? are your plans to become a registered arch. in the future? (what time frame) do you have any prior experience in an Arch. office?