Archinect
anchor

Advice on starting my career!!

tcarchitect

I am 23 years old and I am half way through my masters program at Lawrence Tech.  The problem Is I have little to no experience in the field (I am sure this is not all that shocking).  My grades are definitely good 3.5gpa but both the economy and lack of experience is definitely starting to get the best of me (causes me stress and anxiety about going into architecture).  I am currently working on a  facade improvement for a small business, and have some experience in landscape design (landscaped about six houses).  I feel as though the freelance work on my resume is  not even close to enough for me to get my foot in the door at any firm in this market.  I have been managing to stay financially afloat with parents help and substitute teaching.  Any ideas on how I can get some quick experience that might not be labeled freelance or any ways i could improve my qualifications without already having a job in a firm.  Any help at this point would be FABULOUS!!!  

Jun 29, 12 12:14 pm

First get your IDP record started and start logging hours community service, monographs and AIA continuing education seminars. Waiting too long and you miss out on the student discount.

Then go for certifications that are not tied to having a job, LEED is out ,but CSI certifications are a matter of passing an exam, not easy but there are few roadblocks in your way other than money and time, (not a lot of money) This gives you 40 IDP hours for each level of certification earned.  Also architects rarely retire 100% you can direct your freelance work to helping retirees with their few pet projects, think church repairs, house additions for a friend, this also earns IDP if you get the 15 hours a week limit for 8 weeks. Do well and you have a powerful ally in your job search.