Archinect
anchor

How much should I be compensated?

YourYoureYore

Let me start by giving you some credentials.  I have a BArch and 5 years of experience.  I've never been exclusively behind a desk.  My 2nd day on the job I was on a roof doing a ROCW.  Gradually my responsibility has grown to the point where:

I currently have 8 clients I am working with directly in CA phase and 3 in Design phase.  7 of the 8 in CA I worked almost exclusively on the design.  I usually take most of my projects from pre-design thru contract close-out, including administering the bidding process and contract signing.  The projects I am currently involved with range from $75,000 to $550,000. I have done CA on projects that exceed $2 mil.

I am not licensed.  I work in the (mid) southeast.  we are what I would consider an extremely small firm.

What am I worth?

Jun 23, 12 8:28 pm
Rusty!

You have to do the hard work yourself. How much are you being billed at? Your company is either billing hourly or via a flat fee (more likely).  If later, work your hours backwards. Take the multiplier (less for small firms, 3.5 as default) yaddi yadda. Easy.

Here is the punchline: I (or whoever) will gladly do your job for 10%.less.  And their replacement will do it for additional 10% off.  It's that kind of a shite state of affairs.

The key is to survive. Do whatever it takes to do so.

Jun 24, 12 1:46 am  · 
 · 

3Y - it's very relative. how well is your company doing overall? do you know what the fees are on those projects? to some degree, what you're being billed out at is less relative than the actual fees vs. the actual time you're spending on them.