Archinect
anchor

does anyone know any secret innovative modelling techniques/materials?

Stratty

hey there, i'm a masters student at dalhousie university in halifax, canada... i am (very thankfully) almost finished my last semester of this educational joyride, and need to make the best model in the history of the world for my thesis project. dalhousie a hands-on school where we are taught to use old-school techniques of model building and hand drawing, with little emphasis put on 3-d computer rendering. so, model building competition is fierce. we are always trying to discover new model materials, and often raid junkyards and scrap bins. glycerine, plaster fabric, handcuffs, model trains, and recently liquid latex have made it into my models, but i need to find something incredible for this last model (which will be a theoretical hostel/multi-program building on a very social intersection in halifax).

so if you have ever made a wicked model out of something random (and don't mind sharing your secret) please let me know. I would also love to hear about your favourite modelling techniques or any precedents i can check out. Plus, i know that everyone has coveted photoshop/illustrator tricks that can make model pics layered with drawing look awesome; so if you have any representational techniques you wouldn't mind teaching me, i would be very grateful. if you have a sec and want to see what my previous projects have looked like, you can check out an old website i made for my last work term in amsterdam: http://myweb.dal.ca/slstratt thanks very much, i'm excited to hear about some techniques that can make my project stand out and finally get me out of school!

Feb 3, 07 11:51 am
l8rpeace