Archinect
anchor

NEW THEORY

MADianito

Ok, so, aren't u tired of the classic theorists???, i mean, i personally that much of Corbu's and Lynch's tehories dont really apply to my "urban reality" anymore.. i suppose, someone has just proposed or has been observer of these new ways of urban behaviour, and or new authors and thinkers of architectural theory (i think we even past over Tschumi's thoughts already), so, can anyone name me any good and/or interesting new theorist (architect not philosopher) that i can check out??? (u can include Koolhaas, just drop me some names)

Aug 4, 04 11:22 pm
abracadabra

you sound like a talent scout for ali g.

Aug 4, 04 11:36 pm  · 
 · 
MADianito

lol
well i told him about madonna (but that was an easy call)

Aug 5, 04 12:00 am  · 
 · 
A

My new theory is that I just have been drinking a lot of vodka trying to forget that I'm an architect. Didn't work and now I'm gonna end up having a hangover at work tomorrow. Damn you....damn you.

Aug 5, 04 12:57 am  · 
 · 
kn825

Zizek

Aug 5, 04 9:59 am  · 
 · 
jmac

kwinter isn't new...but he is very relevant. also, andrew benjamin is a philosopher who writes extensively on architecure. both are very different, but very relevant to contemporary architectural discussion.

Aug 5, 04 12:26 pm  · 
 · 
aeaa

does stan allen count for this one?

Aug 5, 04 1:48 pm  · 
 · 
Tectonic

Do we as young architects crave new theory almost as a fad? And if there ARE in fact new theories evolving, do they really apply to our world or do they just satisfy the intellectual hunger of a few? Is there such a thing as fictional theory? or is at all factual?

Aug 5, 04 3:22 pm  · 
 · 
THREADS

after completing "architecture of time" by Kwinter....I was sort of left scratching my head....four chapters of kafka?

Aug 5, 04 5:18 pm  · 
 · 
aeaa

i read the architectures of time about 2 years ago and, while found it to be difficult at moments, also thought it was a stellar read. I did however, skip the kafka kaka.