Archinect
anchor

9/11...loosechange documentary? U believe that?

aquapura

Didn't WTC 7 have a huge tank of diesel fuel in the basement? Something like 10,000 gallons. For generators I would assume. I've heard it was burning at the rate of 75 gallons/second.

I'm no structural engineer but I do know diesel fuel has higher BTU content than kerosene, aka jet fuel. If that was burning it would be burning so hot and fast no fire fighter would attempt putting it out. Hence, pull all the firefighters out and let the thing go.

And in WTC 1&2 you've got a full blown chemical fire going...carpet, plastic, etc. Look around your office and imagine all the shit burning. Not the place I'd want to be. The steel between those floors were relatively light gauge steel trusses, steel decking and 2" concrete topping. All held to the outside vertical structure with welded angles. I can assure you those welded angles were designed to hold the dead load and live load of just one floor. Drop that onto the floor below and the clips there would fail pretty damn quick.

Don't be duped by conspiracy theories out of your political hatred for the administration in the White House. Had 9/11 happend when Clinton was president I have no doubts the conspiracy side would be all right wingers who hate the president. Do you realize how transparent you all are being? Where's the Iraq war supporter who things 9/11 was a conspiracy? While I'm no fan of the president, I'm not dumb enough to believe a conspiracy theory to add fuel to my distaste for him.

Jan 31, 07 9:20 am  · 
 · 
evilplatypus

lLETDOWN -

F = M*A

Those floors were calculated to to resist dead and live loads somewhere around 80 - 100#/s.ft

The accelerating mass from above would create a force thousands of times greater than the connections of the trusses to wall connection could handle, as it was designed more for lateral forces from the tube twisting

Jan 31, 07 11:01 am  · 
 · 
binary