Archinect
anchor

Want to be my IDP mentor (in New York)?

on my way

Are there any registered archinecters in NYC who might be interested in being my IDP mentor?

I've been working in architecture for nearly three years, but am just starting the IDP documentation paperwork now.

I work for a small firm and have done some cool projects, but my boss/supervisor is quite young and I wouldn't really consider him a mentor...

Jan 27, 07 1:27 am
some person

Let Archinect be your informal mentor!

(Sorry, I don't live in NYC and I'm not registered, but I can offer some moral support on the IDP process, if you'd like...)

There are probably other (more eloquent) posts about IDP, but the process is still fresh in my mind, so here's my two cents:

1. Backtrack every minute of the past three years. Get it documented. If you need to go back to a former employer, it may be the best to schedule a short meeting with him/her to sign your forms. I've heard horror stories of people mailing forms to former employers that get lost or overlooked.

2. Once you have submitted your forms to IDP, create an online login and check back in 30 days (the time they claim it takes to update your record). If you see no change in the timeline the provide, email them or give them a call. Once you get someone on the line, as for their email address and direct phone number. Contact them again if you get no results. (I've personally visited NCARB, and the people are generally helpful in person.)

3. In the past three years, have you gotten exposure to all of the IDP categories? What categories are you still missing? Post them here, and we can advise on how to gain the specific experience.

4. If your boss is registered in NY and your firm practices architecture in NY, he can sign both lines on your IDP forms (check with IDP, I think this is still the case.)