Archinect
anchor

Physics and Calculus?

Philarct

hey everyone,
im a newbie to architecture although ive always been
interested in it. Right now im going to community college
studying Auto CAD and drafting classes. after my two years
there i plan to go to a four year college to study architecture.
The requirements to get an actual architectual degree
are Calculus and Physics. I like the subjects but there arent
my strong points. How much of those subjects do you actually
use in architecture? Does it matter what kind of architecture it is?

Phil

Jan 25, 07 3:30 pm
Ms Beary

Can you take those courses at the comm. college and have them transfer? That might be the way to do it.

Personally, I used to be not half bad at math. Took calculus in high school. Took physics in college and tutored some fellow architecture students. Alwasy got good grades. However, since being in practice my math skills practically disappeared - I don't really use anything besides what I call MathCad, my conversion factors on my calculator (square feet to acres) and MAYBE basic trig.

Jan 25, 07 3:37 pm  · 
 · 
Philarct

Well my curiculum right now doesnt allow me to take physics
right now, maybe ill take it during the summer or
something.And have those courses transfer to the
the college i plan to goto. Its good to hear (in my opinion)
that ur math skills disappeared, if im not the greatest at it
i really dont want to do it for the erst of my life.
thanks Strawbeary

Jan 25, 07 3:54 pm  · 
 · 
Ms Beary

make sure the credits will transfer before signing up for the classes.

by the way, my B Arch only required college level trig and basic physics (221 and 222). Nothing advanced. i've heard some arch degrees DO require the calculus though.

Jan 25, 07 4:10 pm  · 
 · 
myriam