Archinect
anchor

switching to MAC from PC, your thoughts??

Living in Gin

I won't be buying anything until I at least know where I'll be going for grad school, since some schools have specific computer requirements and/or special pricing available. (Although I'm a student at DePaul, so I already get the same student pricing from Apple as I would from any of the grad schools I'm applying to.)

That said, it would be nice to have a laptop computer ASAP so that I can schoolwork at the coffee shop instead of being tethered to my home PC.

Regarding the third partition, if I set that up as a swap space, it would be nice to also make it a shared folder so that my home PC can access it via my wireless network.

My iTunes library alone is about 30GB... I remember when I thought it would be impossible for me to ever fill up the 250MB hard drive on my first computer.

Jan 25, 07 12:16 pm  · 
 · 
Carl Douglas (agfa8x)

I think you'll find that 32GB is the maximum file size for a FAT32 partition, not the maximum size of the partition itself.

Installing an OS update is ridiculously easy.

Jan 25, 07 1:31 pm  · 
 · 
rehiggins

actually it IS the partition size not the individual file size that's an issue for FAT, check out the bootcamp set-up guide:

bootcamp

Only NTFS (in windows) allows partitions larger than 32GB, but OSX can not read NTFS

Jan 25, 07 3:26 pm  · 
 · 
Carl Douglas (agfa8x)

I see. My bad. Although technically, that is a limitation of Windows, not FAT32.

Jan 25, 07 3:32 pm  · 
 · 
broccolijet

I just perused through the Boot Camp Setup Guide from the Apple website and came across this steaming pile of crap:

"Important: You must use a single-disc, full-install Windows XP CD that includes Service Pack 2. You cannot use an upgrade version of Windows XP, and you cannot install an earlier version of Windows XP and update it later to SP2. Do not use Windows XP Professional x64 Edition."

This is fucking lame.

Jan 25, 07 6:08 pm  · 
 · 
grahambarron