Archinect
anchor

confused and frusterated with design.

shaner

hi everyone, this is my first post, i'm an intern architectural technologist working in Ontario and im currently attending the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada to become an architect. Ok so as i mentioned i work in a medium size firm in Ontario. We are a production firm working with a lot of contractors from Windsor to Ottawa doing large retirement centers, small and medium commercial centers and some auto dealerships. Now we are a "production firm" and i understand that we are keeping in business and since we live in a real "lunch box" type of area of the country and no one cares about design, we need to focus on getting our buildings out fast and cheep.

now i have a problem with this, i want to do whats best for my firm. i want to produce what they need to keep our clients happy. but feel it is my responsibility to try and promote a good design ethic. it seems every time my boss asks for design i try and give him something with a real concept, something original, innovative and with a design that attempts to positively influence how people are interacting with their environment. Now, we seem to get no positive response from any client form these design attempts, even if my boss will promote them (usually not though.. but only because he knows what the client will say). The client or my boss with always come back with something that totally defies my concept. They always want some cookie cutter building that dosn't have any concept or innovation. Now i know why this is happening. My boss is only doing what the client wants, its just to keep is in business, but isnt there any way we can push true design to the client?