Archinect
anchor

Material for Model making

KheeKhee

Im a new student in architeture field,well..I need ur guys help,im going to make a model with scale 1:50 n 1:20 , my design is so curvy,its almost look like a ball ,a distorted ball, a water drop,so i dont know what material to use to make it.Thanks !! help me guys ...please

Jun 7, 12 6:49 pm
accesskb

modelling clay, plasticine, foam core, cardboard, wire etc

Jun 7, 12 7:15 pm  · 
 · 
G4tor

also, plaster could also work. one more idea would be to create a rigid skeleton using steel wires or steel mesh and draping the skeleton with plaster bandages. you can also try sculpey (soft until baked) which i would actually recommend for this application. 

Jun 7, 12 11:42 pm  · 
 · 
KheeKhee

I want make something simple but look nice...bcz my submission due on monday.i dn hav much time left...cardboard will help but they said too much scoring n slicing to do n it wont look nice eithr....anyway thx for introducing sculpey...

Jun 8, 12 12:46 am  · 
 · 
joker

You could also use papier mache. Not the kind you made in kindergarten, mind you, I'm talking about the kind where you use copious amounts of quick-drying gesso and sandpaper to smooth it all out (you can still use newsprint or whatever paper you can quickly turn into a pulp). It's not nearly as fussy as hard-baked clay and much more resilient to mishaps.

If all else fails, go get some styrofoam blocks/spheres/cones, glue them together as per your design, and start carving and sanding away. Then fill in the pores with plaster or gesso and smooth it over with sandpaper (no avoiding this if you want something nice).

Jun 8, 12 3:48 am  · 
 · 
KheeKhee

Guys,thanks for the detailed info,some materials u guys mentioned,i cnt find it in nearby store...so,basically i got some materials such as :brown board,modelling board,rubber sheet,wire mesh. i will try to make the model out.

Jun 8, 12 9:23 am  · 
 · 
KheeKhee