Archinect
anchor

Getting recruited before graduation

thompson's gazelle

Hi, I'm a student in a master's program studying urban design, and was wondering what are the odds of getting recruited let's say a semester before you graduate from school? I'll be graduating towards the end of May, and for personal reasons, it would be best for me to get an offer letter by this December (visa issues... I am aware of the OPT and it's a totally different problem)

I know it happens a lot in other fields, but to my knowledge architecture firms seem to hire people on immediate need-basis.

Any idea on how it generally works in the architectural field? experiences, stories, or precedents? Please help!

Jun 6, 12 9:54 am
marmkid

I wasnt recruited, but i set up interviews a couple months before graduating to land a job for once i was done with school, though that was nearly 8 years ago now.

Given the current economy, i dont know how much recruiting is done, given that anywhere with openings usually has people coming to them. 

Have you been interning anywhere while in school?  I think that would be your best bet to have something lined up so early.  I dont know if firms these days can hire someone 5-6 months ahead of time out of school.  That seems a bit unrealistic.  But if you have been working with them while in school, and have a good relationship, you can gauge whether or not they would be willing to keep you on full time once you graduate.

Jun 6, 12 10:04 am  · 
 · 
rationalist