Archinect
anchor

CCA?

supersupao

hello everybody. I was introduced to this site a few days ago and find it very informative and entertaining in many ways (my eyes are starting to hurt a bit as I've been reading it non-stop).

I am a prospective M.arch 1 going thru apps right now. It's a total career change for me as I currently work in the fashion industry and come from an undergrad in econ. I've lived in NYC all my life and now have a desire to change up the scenery and my overall lifestlye. that desire brought me to apply to sciarc and cca. Tons of info on the former but not much on latter.

Is anyone here an alum/ current student on CCA's program? Thoughts? Opinions?
thanks to all in advance

Jan 9, 07 10:50 pm

I'm in the midst of applying there for their MFA design program, and got the chance to visit a couple months ago. The things I liked about them.... 1)very universal attitude about design- they offer elective classes that change every semester based on the interest of the students, and give you room to take classes from different disciplines, and don't care if you come from a different design discipline because "design is design", 2)they aren't snobs. They said they admit about 40%, and they don't care if that affects their reputation, because they believe in giving anyone a chance who looks like they can bring something to the community, and 3) I really liked their campus. The main building of the San Francisco campus is LEED certified, and was very open and fun, and they're in the middle of building a new graduate center right next door, and they've got 3D printing and fabrication facilities on the cheap (like, the cost of the electricity to run the machines cheap) so it doesn't seem like they're trying real hard to screw you over.

Jan 9, 07 10:57 pm  · 
 · 
chad_c