Archinect
anchor

What is the word on Minneapolis Firms?

Kirkeron78

I'm a thesis grad student at Virginia Tech visiting Minneapolis in early January. I'm scheduled to visit with three firms, but I have yet to find anyone hiring. Can anyone practicing in the area give me the local word on who to look at and who is hiring? I have no intern experience but I'm fairly good at the 3D software (viz, sketchUp, AutoCad) and I need to get some hours under my belt at an actual firm. I'm graduating in the Spring (that is assuming I successfully defend by then), so I'm not in a huge hurry but trying to feel things out.

Thanks, Kirk

Dec 28, 06 7:40 pm
treekiller

From my recent job search experience, most mpls firms don't advertise openings, but they will meet with prospective candidates (like you) and make an offer if it suits them.

there are a wide range of firms here, can you help narrow down your desired experience (beyond 3d monkey)?

what do you want: starchitect, green, $$$ corporate, well rounded small office, or multi-disciplinary a/e, to name a few of the choices...

Dec 28, 06 8:31 pm  · 
 · 
Kirkeron78

I'm hoping for a small firm that has their hands in a great many things. I am aiming for the lest amount of monkeying and the most experience to up the learning curve. To that end I'm currently tentatively visiting with U+B, Locus, and Altus. I have used my Pro Practice class assignments to interview and begin to connect with some of these firms and this seems to be the next step in establishing a relationship that will end in a job offer. I'm working on a sample of my work to take with me. I guess I was hoping to broaden my list beyond these three firms to other smaller firms that do strong work. I realize it will be a low $$ pursuit but I'm concerned with a strong base of hands-on knowledge.

Dec 29, 06 4:04 am  · 
 · 
treekiller