Archinect
anchor

Give me some 2nd year inspiration

candicelizabeth

Ok im sure this is such an old topic but Im in second year undergrad and Im soo lost!! well it just feels that way... there are about 65 ppl in my studio and i somehow ended up with a C + as my studio grade for the semester when there are people who had much worse projects and didn't do anything all semester while i busted my as* and got b's. Obviously I am not happy about this no one would be, basically that is failing, to me. The problem is I dont know what I am doing wrong or else I would change it, and I have not gotten any real feedback from my professors in specific ways I can improve. Did anyone else who is still in architecture feel this way second year? Got any suggestions on ways to improve myself. Particularly with creating strong concepts and being able to carry them throughout your project. Or was there anything you worked on, on your own that helped you be more confident in studio?

Also, I had to learn Form Z and I hate it, I am going back to CAD, I am going to learn 3d CAD over break, what is the best program to do renderings with ? export to Form Z? Sketch Up? or I saw on the AutoDesk website VIZ and Maya ?

Dec 21, 06 12:32 am
Chch

Oh yeah. I was right where you are in my 2nd year.

I found that I was almost trying *too* hard. I'd either be putting so much thought into projects that the concept was too complex to convey to tutors, or I would end up spending a disproportionate amount of time on presentation to address the balance.