Archinect
anchor

Architectural Fees for Development Projects/ NYC

Geo

So I am pursuing a project for a new ground up building here in NYC. My past work has been primarily in the high-end / residential loft/ interior genre. Past fees were typically in the 12-15% range of construction cost. Can anyone share experiences they have had in fee structure for a new development building? I have heard varying methods of structuring fees for developer projects. I'd like to here others experience. This project is specifically an infill lot in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, approx 5500 sf. Any of you w/ specific NYC perspective are especially appreciated.
Thanks!

Dec 7, 06 8:22 pm
Geo

Just to clarify the initial post, I am an architect, just looking for perspective from others who have dome work for develoers.

Thanks

Dec 8, 06 12:10 am  · 
 · 
tc79

Geo,
Many years ago, the AIA published a schedule of fees (percentage) based on building complexity and cost of construction. Generally, the more complex the higher the fee, but the greater the construction cost, the lower the percentage.
In the 70's, the courts ruled that the schedule was a form of price fixing and made using it illegal.
For instance though, an apartment buiding with a construction cost of $1,000,000 had a minimum recommended fee percentage of 7%. $2M was 6%, $5M was 5%.
And in general, consultants fees would come out of that percentage.

Dec 8, 06 1:33 pm  · 
 · 
Geo

tc79

many thanks...what I'm trying to reconcile is this; i have heard of fees (in NYC) being structured for development projects based on a per/sf basis, but it seems to be an insanely low per /sf basis.

For ex: for a 4000 sf new building = $4-5$/sf in TOTAL consulting (architect,struct.,MEP), so fees in this case are approx. 16k-20k. It just seems like a very foreign method of structuring fee. Curious if alternative fee methods work for others.