Archinect
anchor

What is a portfolio

RoBBie

I am a third year undergrad attending NYIT...I have to complete a portfolio in order to be aaccepted into the five year program. I would appreciate some help from you big dogs. Is the portfolio just eye wash? Should i go all out wacky and crazy with fold outs and thro a lil phenomenal transparency in there? Or should I keep it simple. Whats the deal, give me a hint or to.

Jul 31, 04 2:10 am
bUbBLe

less is more
i love ordinary =)

Jul 31, 04 2:48 am  · 
 · 
uneDITed

Primarily think of yourself as a character...are you the sort of person to spend much time and effort on the portfolio as a crafted thing (and therefor it, the portfolio, itself becomes a presented project within/through it) or do you see it as merely a pragmatic tool (in which case, it is like a blank canvas-you fill it with some elegance and restraint). It could also depends on the sort of school you apply to...though this should not be the base principle. There is nice eye wash and yuk eye wash...being a maximalist is not a sin in itself, just as being a minimalist is not a virtue in itself. There was someone here,sometime ago, who adviced another to look at Harvard architectural publications..the minimal elegant clarity...however, that way could also be easily clinical,lukewarm (banal)and completely unindividual (and a bit cowardly) unless you take it to mind and heart. The advice stipulated that it is ALWAYS a good way..thats just dumb.

Jul 31, 04 8:00 am  · 
 · 
bRink

your portfolio can be a design project in itself. imagine you picked it up off a shelf in a store.

consider: