Archinect
anchor

Salary Negotiation - Entry Level

august

I'm a recent graduate (actually I graduate this Sunday) but I have been offered a position at a very lucrative design firm that fits my personality and career goals almost perfectly.

I have been offered a salary that is above what I expected and what I would consider highly competitive. Should I counter offer even though their offer exceeded my expectations? Should I counter offer on principle? Am I a weak and worthless person for not going after more money?

What are your opinions on the amount of leverage an entry level employee has?

May 16, 12 12:58 am
Quentin

No comment on the salary, but congrats on the offer. Your luck to find one so early on.

May 16, 12 8:46 am  · 
 · 
marmkid

So you get offered a job that sounds perfect for you, for more money that you expected, and you want more?  I dont understand really where you are coming from with this question

Entry level positions dont seem to be the ones where you haggle over money, especially when they exceeded your expectations to begin with.  How much more are you going to ask for, and what is your basis of asking for the increase?

I'd say, unless your initial salary expectations were completely wrong and insanely too low, there is no reason to turn try to wiggle a couple extra thousand from them on the principle alone.  Save that for down the line when you can justify an increase in pay with your actual experience

Congrats on the offer though

May 16, 12 9:07 am  · 
 · 

Yes, you should counter offer or else they'll think you're a total pushover.  But be careful about proposing more money.  Maybe you ask for a token 20-40% but it would be wiser to look at other intangibles.  Make sure you get your own parking spot.  Inquire about a country club or golf club membership.  And settle for nothing less than business class on flights.

Yo!

May 16, 12 9:22 am  · 
 · 
Thecyclist