Archinect
anchor

How do I get my foot in the door

e_bordenave

Well, I'm a recent graduate. I just obtained by Associates and I'm pursuing my bachelors in Architecture. I've been actively searching for an entry level position at a firm as a drafter. I've used AutoCad for five yrs now and I've also become familiar with Revit. I've sent my resume to Monster and other such places but haven't found any firm looking for an entry level drafter with no office experience. I wanted to ask what is the best way to get my foot in the door and start as an intern or full time employee as an entry level drafter?

Nov 22, 06 6:36 pm
joe

monster huh? hmmmm.

Nov 23, 06 2:41 am  · 
 · 
cln1

get a list of all the architects in your city, and start sending out resume's eventually something will bite.

Include a well written cover letter explaining your experience, what architectural programs you know how to use and also a few quality prints of your work.

If that does not work, start calling

If that does not work, contact your local AIA, and try to get in the door there... maybe volunteer your time for some event, you may end up meeting someone, or they may pass your name along.

posting to monster, etc and passively waiting for someone to see your post will not get you anywhere. you def. have to be active in your search.

remember, with all consideration, you are almost useless to a firm at this stage in your career - an associates degree with zero experience will not raise a lot of eyebrows, this is why you have to go above and beyond.

look at the small firms, the really small guys, they just may be looking for a part-time drafter, which may not be what you are looking for, but it will at least give you office experience and will give you some credentials for your next job search.

also, with the small firms, you may actually be drafting, where as if you happen to get in the door with a larger firm, you will most likely start the coffee and office supply person