Archinect
anchor

Architects - Any success stories?

paintitblack

As an aspiring architect, I have to say that while extremely helpful and eye-opening this forum is, it is also very depressing and defeating. I have my heart set on going to grad school for arch, but everything I read seems to tell me I should run in the other direction. My problem is, to where? I'm not interested in anything else. This is the only thing that gets me excited. Unfortunately, in our society we are forced to live to work, not the other way around, and if in going to be spending 70% of my life working, it better be with something that I'm passionate about. That's why, despite all the negative forecasts, I am still seeking a silver lining to this profession. Is there ANYone out there with a success story? Someone who makes decent money, works decent hours doing what they love with architecture? If so, could you please share a little about what you do? I'm not necessarily interested in working for a big firm or hobnobbing with starchitects, but I would like to scratch out a decent living and not live paycheck to paycheck. Any happy architects out there?

May 1, 12 1:44 pm
sgnt13