Archinect
anchor

lukeyouell

I'm currently in my first year of university, part of my project is to complete a brief design & access statement for my proposed development design.

I would just like some feedback on what I have done, seeing as though this is my first attempt at this sort of document.

"APPLICATION SITE APPRAISAL

The application site is currently a relatively flat, open-area used as a car park located in Mabgate between St. Mary's Street and Argyle Road. The land rises slightly from front to rear and the boundaries are marked with use of fencing.
The site is accessed from Mabgate, vehicular access is available.

LAYOUT

The site will include one six-storey building containing 41 apartments.

SCALE

The structure measures 76 metres in length, 18 metres in width and stands at a height of 18.5 metres.

DESIGN PROPOSAL

Overall, the applicant aims to achieve a high standard of design and the following considerations have therefore been taken into account
1. The 41 apartments will provide accommodation aimed at single occupants, couples and families.
2. 27 apartments are designed for single occupants or couples, 7 designed for families and another 7 located on the first-floor have been designed to accommodate disabled occupants.
3. The proposal is designed in such a way that it does not stand out too much from it's surroundings, so the materials used are pretty similar to some of the surrounding structures.
4. The ground floor of the proposal is a residential car park that has been designed to accommodate 48 vehicles, this is to reduce the impact the proposal has on the local demand for parking spaces.

HIGHWAY CONSIDERATIONS

There are no Highway Considerations relevant to this proposal as the existing access from Mabgate is to be used.

TREES and HEDGES

As there are no trees or hedges located on the whole of the site, it is suggested that no further landscaping is necessary.

FLOODING