Archinect
anchor

true sustainability?

Tarheel_11

I am new to the concept of sustainability and it seems as though people don't believethat LEED can really provide us with a worthwhile system of standards that, when followed, will produce truly sustainable architecture. Why is this and where can I look to become more informed on the topic?

Oct 23, 06 1:31 pm

leed is good but not "it" when it comes to sustainability. Learn about the best methods to harvest wind and sun. What materials and tectonic systems are the best for the condition you are working in, site the building correctly, take into account phenomenology (can snow become poetic?). What I mean to say is: there is nothing to follow only principles to be mindful of.

As far as LEED in itself, it is pretty good, if nothing else better than if there was nothing at all. The one major deficiency IMHO is that LEED is not good enough at adressing issues of energy and materials.

Just keep this in mind: the USGBC is a big organization with lots of people involved in making the standards. These standards are the best a group of people can come up with to slowly change a building sector that is very traditional and economy driven.

Oct 23, 06 1:50 pm  · 
 · 

My biggest problem with LEED is that some things like building orientation or wastewater or transportation accessibility, which effect the building in a HUGE way, as well as the whole area around it, are given equal weight with other elements which seem to have much smaller effect, or certainly a more local or temporary effect.

Oct 23, 06 2:02 pm  · 
 · 
Reason

I was wondering about the same thing and looking for good books on this topic, that I can learn more about sustainability and how to integrate with our design. Toward a New Regionalism
So far I found "Environmental Architecture in the Pacific Northwest". Any other sugestions?

Oct 23, 06 2:07 pm  · 
 · 
brian buchalski