Archinect
anchor

resume / CV quick question

joe

more aimed at a CV, which is more thorough, but...
how do you indicate that you have done reviews and sat on crits for colleges after you have graduated and are in the field?
Also, what about exhibitions, and publications?

simply put categories that say academia, exhibitions, and publications? seems to straight forward and blah actually.
thanks

and at what point does a resume change over to a CV? I'm new to the workforce, so I generally included a lot in my resume, because I didnt have much, but now it seems things are adding up and I have to pick and choose on what to include in the "short version"

Oct 21, 06 4:11 pm
eeayeeayo

The categories you've listed are fine. People who have a large body of work or experience in a particular category often invent subcategories, and people who have only one or two items in a category often combine it with another, for example "Exhbitions and Publications".

For the guest critic sort of thing it's often done by saying "served as guest critic at the following:" and then listing the schools. I've seen people list all the individual faculty members at each school who they've been a guest critic for, but this usually looks like padding...

A resume for purposes of employment with firms, firms' marketing, etc. usually is only 1 or 2 pages and is more likely to include things like sizes and budgets of major projects completed with each firm, and to list things like competency with various software packages. Things like awards, publications, exhibitions, etc. may be mentioned briefly, in a list format. Sometimes some of these categories aren't listed at all.
A CV is often many pages long - as long as it takes to adequately describe all items in all categories. It's less common to go into great detail about professional projects or to list things like software competency on a CV, but some people do it anyway.