What is your objective in posting this?

Apr 27, 12 8:25 pm  · 
 · 
metal

its a model for a new type of architecture firm

Apr 27, 12 9:00 pm  · 
 · 
i r giv up

i think it's fairly obvious that i am trying to start a discussion re: alternative management practices.

Apr 27, 12 9:13 pm  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ

Valve only hires the best and when you do that hands-off management comes with the territory. They do hire architects...

Apr 28, 12 1:31 am  · 
 · 
Bench

Hey Lits, I'm curious about their architect-hiring initiatives; is it pretty simply just for map-design/etc, or is there other stuff architects bring to the table in terms of being creative individuals?

Apr 28, 12 11:16 am  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ

I'm not an expert but from what I've been told they hire creatives, if you're good at what you do they want you. Much like their handbook says, they want people that contribute inside and outside of the box. 

Here's an example...

Level Designer
Can you turn a whiteboard concept into a sensational gameplay sequence—or help us figure out why players don’t ever look up when they’re trying to solve puzzles? If so, we need you! We’re looking for level designers to help us create exciting new gameplay experiences. In collaboration with peers from all disciplines (artists, programmers, animators, writers, etc.), you’ll use your skills and knowledge of game design to create imaginative gameplay, produce creative solutions to playtest issues, and quantify and analyze feedback to ensure that players get the most out of every Valve game.
Duties:
Participate in design sessions to create outline of game experience.
Build the game world in 3D.
Use entity scripting to create cinematic sequences of gameplay.
Work with artists, animators, writers, and programmers to implement elements such as art, animation, story, and design requirements.
Participate in observed playtesting and create work items based on observations and analysis of playtesting data.
Manage and prioritize bug lists.